Dip N' Drive

The Sport of Weightlifting

Gear for a New Weightlifter

Simple question: What stuff does a new weightlifter need to buy?

Note I used all Rogue links to keep it easy if you want to buy a bunch of stuff all from one place. They also do free shipping on a lot of stuff. I’m not paid by them or anything like that. There’s definitely some cases where I wouldn’t buy the Rogue links, like the notebook or timer.

NECESSARY the stuff that can’t be skipped

Weightlifting Shoes – The very first purchase should be weightlifting shoes. Everything else can arguably wait but this should be the first thing.They aid your lifts and squats a great deal, and more importantly, you don’t want to ingrain bad motor patterns if you start learning the lifts without weightlifting shoes. If you don’t want to spend a lot of money, there are cheaper options out there that don’t require the same high dollar price commitment. I bought a pair of the Rogue Do-Win ($119) shoe and have been using them for over a year. I just bought a new pair of Nike Romaleos 2 ($189) but I’m not switching until after my first meet next Sunday. A lot of people also like the Adidas Adipower ($199), including seemingly every American weightlifting video I see.

DAILY USE the stuff i use every day

Notebook / Pen – Writing down your workouts promotes discipline and offers a guide to what worked and didn’t work in the past. I just use a plain spiral bound notebook but if you want to keep more detailed track of your progress, this Rogue Fitness WODbook ($16.50) is meant for CrossFit but it could work for weightlifting.

Stop Watch or Timer – I find that using specific rest periods between sets, rather than just going by feel, is beneficial to make sure I spend my limited time well in the gym. Rogue sells this Robic Timer ($24) but there are much better options, including your phone.

Lifting Straps – Not quite every day, but just about. When you’re doing heavy clean and snatch pulls, your grip shouldn’t be the limiting factor in how much weight you can do. I have a pair of these Rogue Lifting Straps ($12) that work well for me.

Hand Care – Tearing a callous hurts like hell and impedes your training for days. After getting plenty in CrossFit, I made sure to take care of my hands once I started weightlifting. RIPT Skin Systems has a Fix Your Hands ($22) pack that has a grind stone to use in the shower after every training session, a stick you apply daily to keep your callouses soft, another stick for freshly ripped callouses just in case. I haven’t had any problems after I bought the pack and started using it, so I’m a fan.

IT DEPENDS the stuff not everyone needs

Knee Sleeves – I wear a pair of Rehband 7751 ($74) for any workout where I’m going heavy below parallel. When my knees are really bothering me every couple of months, I switch to the heavy duty Tommy Kono ($40) bands. Plenty of people lift without knee sleeves and don’t have knee pain, but I feel better wearing them every workout.

Wrist Wraps – I use a pair of Rogue Wrist Wraps ($15) on any heavy overhead work, including heavy snatches and jerks. Again, not everyone uses or needs these, but I feel better with them on.

Chalk – Most weightlifting gyms should have this available, but if you’ll be lifting somewhere without it, this is a good option for a travel chalk that you can stick in your bag. I have a Bison Chalk Ball ($13) for the rare occasion it’s needed. Also good for meets when you don’t know what will be available and where in the warm-up area.

Mobility Accessories – Most weightlifting gyms will have at least some of this stuff, but again, I have my own copies to keep in my bag or at home. A lacrosse ball ($3), a stretch band ($20), and a foam roller ($40) should be enough.

Leave a comment